1. Social Security Disability
  2. /
  3. What Medical Conditions Qualify For Social Security Disability?
  4. /
  5. Malignant Neoplastic Diseases That Qualify For Social Security Benefits

Malignant Neoplastic Diseases That Qualify For Social Security Benefits

Malignant neoplastic disorders are covered by the Social Security Administration (SSA) in Section 13 of the Blue Book. This category encompasses a wide variety of malignancies and cancer-related diseases. The Section is further divided into 27 subsections based on the type of sickness and/or the location of the disease’s origin. These subsections include the following:

  • The adrenal glands, the kidneys, and the ureters
  • Breast cancers treated with stem cell or bone marrow transplantation
  • Bile duct or liver
  • Tract genital (female)
  • Leukemia
  • Lungs
  • Lymphoma
  • Pleura or mediastinum
  • Myeloma multiplex
  • Neurological system
  • Intestines large
  • The pancreas, the penis, and the prostate gland
  • Glands salivaires
  • System skeletal
  • Small intestines Skin
  • Sarcoma of the soft tissues
  • Neck or head soft tissue cancers Stomach or esophagus
  • Fossa temporalis, orbit, or maxilla
  • Testicles
  • Thymus gland
  • Bladder urinary

The Social Security Administration evaluates these cancers by reviewing medical documentation of the origin of the cancer, extent of the involvement, duration of anticancer therapy, and frequency as well as how the patient responds to the treatment since everyone responds to treatment differently, and lastly, they review the effects of any post-therapeutic residuals.

Acquiring medial evidence that showcases the specific type, extent, and site of either the recurrent, primary, or metastatic lesion is required by the SSA.  Regarding operative procedures such as a biopsy or needle aspiration, you will need to provide a copy of the operative note and pathology report, if you’re unable to acquire these, then a summary of the hospitalizations are acceptable. Evidence about recurrence, persistence, or progression is required in some situations.

Generally, persons who have received a stem cell or bone marrow transplant are considered impaired for one year, following which they are monitored on an ongoing basis. The number of metastases required before a claimant is judged totally disabled varies according to the disease’s origin.

Specific conditions that qualify for the examination of malignant neoplastic illnesses include the following:

  • Cancer of the Brain
  • Cancer of the Breast
  • Leukemia Acute
  • Leukemia Chronic Lymphocytic
  • Myelogenous Leukemia, Chronic
  • Cancer of the Colon
  • Melanoma in its Early Stages
  • Cancer of the Endometrium
  • Cancer of the Fallopian Tube
  • Melanoma Intraocular
  • Cancer of the jaw or eye
  • Cancer of the Lungs
  • Lymphoma
  • Macroglobulinemia
  • Breast Cancer in Males
  • Mesothelioma
  • Myelofibrosis
  • Oral Carcinomas
  • Cancer of the Ovaries
  • Cancer of the Penis
  • Cancer of the pleura or mediastinum
  • Cancer of the Prostate
  • Cancer of the Testis
  • Cancerous Tumors of the Trabecular System
  • Cancer of the Urethra
  • Cancer of the Uterus
  • Cancer of the vulvar