1. Social Security Disability
  2. /
  3. What Medical Conditions Qualify For Social Security Disability?
  4. /
  5. Respiratory System Disorders That Qualify For Social Security Benefits

Respiratory System Disorders That Qualify For Social Security Benefits

Prior to applying for Social Security disability benefits due to a respiratory system disorder, you should be aware that your claim will be evaluated in accordance with the guidelines set forth in Section 3 of the Social Security Administration’s Blue Book. The SSA representative assigned to your claim will first determine whether the medical evidence in your claim meets the Blue Book’s criteria. If your condition does not meet the Blue Book’s standards, you may still be eligible for payments, but a more critical analysis of your symptoms and condition may be required.

Section 3 of the bluebook covers respiratory disorders, the following are conditions that are covered in section 3:

Lung Transplant – For one year following lung transplantation, individuals are considered handicapped. Following that, their state is evaluated and reviewed on a regular basis.

Asthma – The bluebook provides a table that measure a persons FEV1 test results regarding someone’s age, gender, and height (without shoes on), measured within the same 12 month period as when you are admitted to a hospital. As well as three hospitalizations regarding exacerbations or complications within a 12-month period that are at least 30 days apart. Each hospitalization must last a minimum of 48 hours, including time spent in a hospital emergency room immediately before the stay.

Chronic pulmonary hypertension due to any cause – Medical documentation of having 40mm or greater pulmonary artery pressure which is recorded by a cardiac catheterization. Documentation of multiple tests will be performed to make sure you qualify for disability benefits.

Cystic fibrosis – Similar to Asthma, the bluebook provides a table that lists requirements that have to be met regarding a FEV1 test. Cystic fibrosis has multiple ways to qualify besides a FEV1 Test, such as a Sp02 test which is measured by pulse oximetry, pulmonary hemorrhage that requires a vascular embolization to stop bleeding, Respiratory failure, or spontaneous pneumothorax.

The majority of other respiratory illnesses are evaluated using the same criteria as the Chronic pulmonary hypertension. It’s worth mentioning that individuals who do not qualify for disability benefits solely on the basis of a respiratory condition may still qualify for benefits after all other factors are examined.

Additional conditions considered by the SSA as respiratory system diseases include the following:

  • Syndrome of Acute Respiratory Distress
  • Allergies
  • COPD is an acronym for Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Chronic Respiratory Restrictive Disease
  • Emphysema
  • Pneumonia
  • Tuberculosis of the lungs (TB)
  • Respiratory Impairment
  • Sarcoidosis